Press "Enter" to skip to content

Songwriters Hall Of Fame 2023 Nods Include Snoop, Teddy Riley, And More

Songwriters Hall Of Fame 2023 has been announced.

The Songwriters Hall of Fame 2023 nominees include Bryan Adams, R.E.M., Blondie, Snoop Dogg, Gloria Estefan, Heart, and The Doobie Brothers, among a dizzying array of brilliant groups who made an impact on post-punk, Latin, pop, country, and New Jack Swing.

The ballot features soul-jazz performer Sade, whose 1980s soft rock successes include “Smooth Operator” and “The Sweetest Taboo,” as well as the writing team behind “Ragtime” and “Anastasia,” Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty.

Patti Smith and Steve Winwood, two seasoned rock musicians whose hits include “Higher Love” and “Roll With It,” as well as songs like “Because the Night” and “Dancing Barefoot,” are also nominated. Having made the list for the first time in 2018, Vince Gill is a nominee once more.

Jeff Lynne of ELO, who wrote “Mr. Blue Sky” and “Evil Woman,” will compete against the Michael Stipe-led “Losing My Religion” R.E.M. as well as Heart’s Ann and Nancy Wilson, who proved that women could rock hard with songs like “Barracuda” and “Crazy On You.”

Blondie, who gave us the New Wave singles “Call Me” and “Rapture,” is also eligible for the hall of fame, along with Debbie Harry, Chris Stein, and Clem Burke. Should Snoop Dogg be accepted, he would join rappers Missy Elliott and Jay-Z. With songs like “Rhythm Is Gonna Get You” and “Let’s Get Loud,” two crossover hits by Gloria Estefan, Latin rhythms are credited with making Latin rhythms more popular.

The Pointer Sisters, Cher, Olivia Newton-John, Barbra Streisand, and veteran songwriter Tom Snow, who co-wrote the song “Let’s Hear It for the Boy” from the movie “Footloose,” are also eligible. Another contender, Dean Pitchford, is linked by the song “Footloose,” whose music dethroned “Thriller” in 1984 by debuting at No. 1 on the Billboard album charts.

The singer, songwriter, and producer Teddy Riley, as well as Liz Rose, who co-wrote a number of songs with Taylor Swift, including “You Belong with Me,” “Teardrops on My Guitar,” and “White Horse,” are among the nominees. Teddy Riley is known for developing New Jack Swing and its catchiest songs, including Bobby Brown’s “My Prerogative” and Keith Sweat’s “I Want Her.

The Songwriters Hall of Fame was created in 1969 to recognize those who wrote songs that became popular. A songwriter is eligible for induction 20 years after the song’s initial commercial release if they have a significant body of work.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *